Coca-cola Cake

Are you sick of stale cake? Need some pep in your patty pans? Have I got the recipe for you!

I have travelled quite a bit, and I collect as coke bottle from every country I visit; they are different in every country. I have visited the coke factory in Atlanta, and collect other paraphernalia such as clocks, advertisements, and Christmas ornaments. Having said that, I only drink Diet Coke, as it isn’t as syrupy-sweet as original, and it contains that phenylalanine I find so addictive. Mmm…

A few years back, a friend asked me to make her a coca-cola cake. I found a recipe after some quick googling and have made it every year for her since. It is moist but fluffy, and never goes stale and remains sweet, no doubt thanks to chemicals such as Merchandise 7X, sodium benzoate, E211, and phosphoric acid to name a few. So it’s a great cake if you live alone as you can take a month to eat it.

Find my tweaked recipe below (not for the health conscious):

2 cups SR flour
2 cups sugar
3 tbs cocoa
1 cup coca-cola
1 cup butter
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
3/4tsp baking soda
2 tsp vanilla essence

In a large bowl, combine sugar and SR flour.
In saucepan mix coca-cola, cocoa, and butter, and bring to a boil then take it off right away.
Mix into dry ingredients.
In small bowl mix eggs, milk, soda and vanilla.
Mix it all together swiftly so eggs don’t go weird. It will be quite liquid.
Pour into tightly sealed tin – I found out the hard way that spring form tins are a no go.
Bake for 45 minutes to an hour in 140’C or 350’F oven until usual tests show it’s done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking

Leave a Reply

