Tawny Frogmouth

Tawny Frogmouth (wikimedia)

I just had to share that I saw a Tawny Frogmouth tonight! I am very excited as I haven’t seen one since I was 9. I remember specifically, as I was at brownie guides, and it was sitting on the fence there. We used to see them quite often, but don’t anymore: whether that’s because I’m not outside as much or because they are diminshing in numbers, I don’t know.

For those non-Australians, a tawny frogmouth is a type of bird, which looks a bit like an owl. However, it is not an owl, just as the Koala is not a bear, except without the Playschool song. They have exceptional camouflage, so it can be hard to spot them.

I saw him sitting on the grass next to the church hall next door in the lights. I thought it was odd for him to be so exposed, but all the insects, his primary diet, are attracted to the light so I guess it makes sense.

2 Comments

Filed under Creating

2 responses to “Tawny Frogmouth

  1. Oh how exciting. I’ve never seen one in the wild …. very glad you shared.

  2. I’d never even heard of a Tawny FM– hard to believe it’s not an owl. If you see him again, ask him to vacation in New Hampshire, USA– he’d be a sensation! : )

Leave a Reply

