Sugar Plum Jam

Fairy; fruit or lolly?

A few weeks ago I came across sugar plums at the markets. You must understand that until two years ago I didn’t eat fruit or vegetables. I did not frequent green grocers. Consequently, I didn’t know that sugar plums (different from regular plums) were a real thing outside of the nutcracker. Though after some google’ing, I believe the fairy related more to the lolly, which is a delicacy of the same name.

As they are in season, and I was curious about this myth come to life, I picked up 12 of these little fruits, which look like large grapes. Because these aren’t the best eating fruit, I made them into jam. 12 made one Doritos salsa sized jar.

Going on the principle of the fig and Rosella jam, I chopped them up, added about half the volume of water, and boiled them. I kept the seeds in the water to extract the pectin, then fished them out just prior to blending. I added about half the weight after blending in castor sugar and boiled to setting point.

jars-a-plenty

It turned out to be a traditionally sweet-tasting jam, though easier on the tooth than strawberry. I used it in baking jam pastries, and with Devonshire tea (on scones with cream).

Side note: my sister’s new house mate eats a jar of Doritos every week, so I now have a steady stream of jars. However they do have to be boiled extra long to remove the strong taste of salsa, and I find the seal on the lid retains the smell for quite a while.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking

Leave a Reply

