Bread, My Love

Bread rolls

I love bread. I love all carbs really, but especially bread. When I was about 15, I tried many times to make bread. Each attempt it turned our raw inside, no matter how hollow it sounded. So I admit, I gave up.  

I decided to overcome this decade long fear and have another go. It was a lot of fun. I love the texture of the dough after it has risen, fluffy but heavy, moist yet pliable.  The smell of yeast through the house was enough to make the boy think I was having an early beer.

This simple Women’s Weekly bread recipe must be foolproof as it worked splendidly. It looked, tasted and felt like bread. It was less sweet than that from a shop, also a little less moist, but I can experiment with that. If you’ve tried and failed at making home-made bread, I would strongly suggest you try again with this recipe.

dissolve 10g yeast ad 2 tsp of sugar in 1/2 cup warm water, and stand until frothy (10 minutes).

Braided loaf

Mix 30g melted butter, 1/2 cup warm water, and yeast mixture into  2 1/2 cups plain flour, with 1 tsp salt. Knead until smooth. Stand in greased bowl for 1 hour until double in size.

Knead and shape for type (segment for rolls, roll into rectangle then up like a swiss roll for loaf). Sit to rise for another 20 minutes.

Bake in moderate oven for 20 to 40 minutes, depending on size.

7 Comments

Filed under Baking

7 responses to “Bread, My Love

  1. I love your posts so I nominated you as one of my 15 favourite blogs and a One Lovely Blog Award. You can see more about it at my blog http://www.cassmob.wordpress.com. However as the “requirement” to nominate another 15 bloggers is onerous I don’t expect you will necessarily want to do this. I just wanted to share your great site with others. Pauleen

  2. I hope I didn’t offend you -I certainly didn’t intend to. I love the mix of creative interests you have. I’m enjoying your blog and have a few good chuckles as well to my husband’s bemusement, so then I have to explain. Cheers, Pauleen

  3. BTW can you enlighten my on setting up Brain Storms? I played with Wordle the other day and had great fun. Does your Brain Storm change with posts?

    • From what I remember (I am not tech-savie) it is the ‘Tags’ widget, but I renamed it. It changes itself based on tags I add with each post, and the more common ones get larger I believe.

  4. Thanks -I’ll explore that as we’re both using wordpress…kind of more interesting than just saying “tags”

Leave a Reply

