Jiminy Cricket!

You may remember that a few weeks ago I bought a basil plant at the Rocklea Markets. It has been growing superbly, unlike any other basil I have attempted to grow. I have been able to use it frequently as it is sprouting so quickly.

Yesterday I noticed that the leaves were looking ratty. At first, I though it was just dying, like the rest of my plants. However, upon closer inspection I noticed it had been eaten. I looked around for a caterpillar for a few minutes before noticing a perfectly basil-coloured grasshopper. As cute as he was, I couldn’t have him eating my plants.

Not wanting to use chemicals (defies the point of growing my own), I got some old netting that I had left over from making a  tutu-type underskirt, stapled it into a pillow-case and slipped it over the pot. Works a charm as Mr Grasshopper has been sitting on the outside of it for a few hours now.

Chomper

I guess he’ll have to go back to plain old grass.

7 Comments

Filed under Creating

7 responses to “Jiminy Cricket!

  1. Poor grasshopper … do you want him/her to starve? You heartless wench! 😉

  2. That’s actually a really clever idea. Way to think!

  3. I just love the smell of basil – it’s one of my alltime favourite scents. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

