A Passage to India

 Because I found this book flawless, I didn’t know where to being when providing my review. Remembering back to school book reports for inspiration, I began…

I read A Passage to India, by EM Forster. It is a fiction book, based in India during the early British Empire…

At this point I became nauseated about how children are taught to think about a book so I deviated…

 

E M Forster

 

The main themes of this book are around prejudices and bigotry. However, A Passage to India doesn’t say “Look how bad these racist people are”. Instead it exposes deeper, instinctual feelings, and investigates the causes of such intolerance. I feel To Kill a Mockingbird is superficial, underdeveloped and obvious, compared to this masterpiece.

A Passage to India reveals that there are no true victims, because each societal group is both the perpetrator and the receiver of discrimination, and narrow-mindedness. Everyone, save perhaps the Dalai Lama, stereotypes.

In case you have not noticed from my other reviews, I like books that ask questions and pose problems, not ones which prescribe answers. Forster allows the reader to develop their own view of the characters.

The plot is fantastic. When I thought I knew what was going to happen, I was surprised. Forster knows just when to provide long, vivid descriptions, dialogue, action, and when to change the course of the story.

British India

His language is beautiful, but not too fanciful. It is intelligent, but not patronising, and doesn’t have the average reader reaching for the dictionary every few pages. He uses a set of metaphors, idioms and linguistic tools, which are not common in today’s language, but which are easily relatable and provide for interesting reading.

I could go on and on but I dislike blogs which require scrolling, and don’t wish to be a hypocrite. Happy reading!

7 Comments

Filed under Reading

7 responses to “A Passage to India

  1. I’ve seen the movie – gorgeous and well done – but not read the book. Really must fix that one of these days!

  2. I’ve been thinking about reading this one. From your description I take his language is far from boring. Is there anything you didn’t like about the book? I think an actual opinion from somebody who has already had a chance to read it would help me to decide if it’s a book for me or not.

    • Yes, I love the way people of the empire talked around the turn of the century. It would be helpful if there was something I didn’t like but unfortunately it was just right for my tastes. Some people might not like that the book lacks a climax, a definite solution or a firm ending. There aren’t ‘goodies and baddies’, it’s all a bit grey in that respect. That doesn’t bother me though, I quite enjoy stories where the reader steps gentley in and then out of someone’s life.

      • That sounds interesting. I like when authors do not push their own opinions on readers, but let them decide on their own. I should read this one in the near future.

  3. Pingback: The Moon Is Down | Living Delilah

  4. Pingback: Out of Africa | Living Delilah

Leave a Reply

