Belligerent Biscuits

Being near to a certain Catholic holiday, I thought it appropriate to make Lebkuchen (Love Cookies). Only after the boy ate some dough, and asked, “Does this have ginger in it?”, did I remember his allergy. A quick wikipedia search taught me that another spice prominent in the recipe, cardamom, is in the same family as ginger, and those allergic to one, are often allergic to the others. Who needs arsenic?

Lebkuchen

Unfortunately (for him), most of my favourite recipes have ginger in them, and I love ginger in most everything. Furthermore, this recipe would give me an opportunity to use some of the marmalade I made (say that ten times fast).

Lebkuchen

1. Melt 60g butter and 2/3 cup golden syrup (cane syrup in US)

I ran out of golden syrup so used some local ironbark honey instead.

2. Sift in 1 tsp bi-card soda, 2 cups plain flour, 1/4 tsp each ginger, cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, cocoa.

3. Mix in with 1 tbs milk until dryish dough.

4. Roll out and cut until heart shapes and place on tray. Use end of wooden spoon to create dips in the centre of each biscuit, and fill with jam or marmalade.

Evidently, I could not locate my heart-cutter on this occasion.

5. Bake for 10 minutes and cool completely.

6. Using a double saucepan, or glass bowl over a boiling pot, melt 125 g cooking chocolate, and spread on back of cooled biscuits. Refrigerate to set.

Chocolate

 It may also be worth a mention that I once won 1st prize for these cookies in a local fair 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Belligerent Biscuits

  1. Those look delicious! A ginger allergy? How unfortunate. I don’t know what I’d do without ginger it is so yummy.

Leave a comment