Delftware Dress

I had first used this 1957 Vintage Vogue pattern (V2903) to make a Queen of Hearts costume for my sister. I finally had the time and cash to attempt a more wearable version.

This pattern takes 6 metres of fabric, that is a lot, especially when you have a very small working space. I used a quilting fabric because of the beautiful design, which reminds me of Delftware plate motif.

Delftware (Wikimedia Image)

Being quite short, I ended up using only around 5m, as I cut the length a foot shorter, even before hemming. If like me, you find cutting the pattern a most tiresome activity, ready your forearm muscles for this beast. It is 8 large, long pieces, plus facings. Nevertheless, it is really quite a simple sew.

One down side of this pattern is the sleeves, as I learnt first time around. They were designed for a Vogue model, and are only suitable for sitting at a dinner table or standing in front of the sink, no reaching or waving allowed (a lady in the 1950s probably wouldn’t engage in such uncouth behaviour). Needless to say, I left the sleeves off this incarnation. 

1950s Delftware Dress

I added the embellishments of ribbon trim and a button as it is otherwise quite plain. I also wear a tutu/petticoat under-skirt underneath to fluff it out to a truer 1950s style. I didn’t iron in the pleats of this dress, because I quite like the looser flowing feel.

All things considered, I would use this pattern again.

10 Comments

Filed under Sewing

10 responses to “Delftware Dress

  1. That dress is so pretty! The blue and white patterned fabric is complimented by the style.
    I hate pattern cutting – I want to get at that sewing machine – but you’ve obviously taken great care.
    Well done, you.

  2. This is so cute! You did a fantastic job.

  3. Lovely! I collect Delft and used to have a Delft kitchen. I bought a bunch of blue/white fabric to make a Delft style wall quilt, to adorn a wall in said kitchen in 1992. But…. then I changed my mind, painted the walls hunter green, lost all the fabric and the quilt pattern… Fast forward- last month I found the fabric! Now. Where is the pattern? I have a Delft bathroom at the moment…

  4. lindsaybobindsay

    Whoooooooooaaahhh! Pretty dress! You look great in it! I love that fabric, makes me want to use more prints.

  5. Pingback: Unexpected Gifts | Living Delilah

Leave a Reply

