3 bowls of sugar

Channelling my inner CWA, I decided to make marmalade. What most suprised me about this project what just how much sugar marmalade contains, even when home made. At least I know it contains no preservatives or colours.

Three Fruits Marmalade

Ingredients: 1 grapefruit, 2 oranges, 1 lemon, 2.5L (10 cups) cold water, 2.5kg caster sugar

Method

1. Slice off ends or fruits, cut in half lengthways, then thinly slice crossways. . Place with water in a large bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and set aside in a cool place for 8 hours or overnight to infuse.

The recipe advises to keep the seeds, but unfortunately, even though I had purchased my fruit from a small locally owed grocer, they were still genetically modified enough not to have seeds to preserve.

Fruit Infusion

2. Transfer mixture to a heavy saucepan. Boil, stirring occasionally, for 45 minutes until rind is tender.

3. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 120°C. Place sugar in shallow dish in the oven, stirring once, for 10-15 minutes until warmed.

Sugar for Marmalade

4. Reduce stove heat. Add warm sugar and cook, stirring until the sugar dissolves. Gently boil, stirring occasionally and remove any scum on the surface, for 50 minutes until mixture thickens to setting point. (Spoon a little marmalade onto saucer in the freezer for 2 minutes so see if it turns gel-like)

5. Ladle into jars, seal and turn upside down for 2 minutes. Turn upright and set aside until cooled.

Unfortunately most of my reusable jars were occupied by various nuts and fruits, so I did have to purchase some to use for this recipe.

 

Finished Product

While marmalade can be a bit zesty for my tastes, I know my mum will enjoy a jar. The colours of this project alone made it worth it, and reminded me of my 60s vase collection:

Some encased glass 60s vases

3 Comments

Filed under Baking

3 responses to “3 bowls of sugar

  1. Pingback: Rosellas – not just birds | Living Delilah

  2. I’m reminded of an Asian cooking class where a friend was eagerly anticipating learning how to make sticky rice pudding. When she saw the instructor adding a massive amount of sugar she nearly cried, and hasn’t eating SRP since. A tragedy from her point of view, but really what’s a bit of sugar when you love something 🙂

    • While ignorance is bliss, I agree, it’s just sugar. At least if it’s home made, you know there aren’t any other secret ingredients, and the sugar isn’t in the form of those syrups the media is on about.

Leave a Reply

