When Brisbane River’s breaking, Delilah will be baking

I’m watching the creek across the road swell. I know it will be here eventually and I will hop in my car and drive up the hill to my cousin’s place. But we’re not going just yet. How to pass the time and not worry?

Baking of course.

Unfortunately, I find it hard to pick a recipe as I have no milk. But of course! ANZAC biscuits. They were thus named in a time of war, as they were sent to the soldiers because they lasted a long time. Should we not be able to get groceries for a few days, seems like a wise choice.

250g butter melted and mixed into 2 cups each of flour, rolled oats and coconut. 1 1/2 cups sugar, 2 tbs golden syrup and 1 tsp of baking soda. Bake in moderate for 10 minutes. Yum!

1 Comment

Filed under Baking

One response to “When Brisbane River’s breaking, Delilah will be baking

  1. The General (aka: Mommy)

    I’ve always wanted to make Anzac biscuits- thanks fro bringing them to mind again, complete with recipe! Something fun to do with the little one, I think! Havent heard much the last few days about the flooding, so I hope things are returning to normal and you escaped to much damage.

Leave a Reply

